Archive: 2018

Top 3 Things to Know If You Are in a Motor Vehicle Accident

December 8, 2022 | Category: Personal Injury in Florida

Top 3 Things to Know If You Are in a Motor Vehicle Accident:

1. Be covered

Before you get behind the wheel, make sure you are covered! Vehicles with a Florida registration are only required by Florida Law to have a minimum of $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection AND a minimum of $10,000 in property damage liability coverage.

2. Document

In the event you are in a motor vehicle accident, document everything. If you are able, move your car off the road and onto the shoulder, and dial 911 to report an accident.

3. Seek Medical Treatment

You may recognize that you have an injury right away. If you or your passengers are injured, wait for emergency personnel to arrive, and treat you appropriately.

Read Full Post

Two Buyers, One Property - Who owns it?

October 26, 2022 | Category: Articles

If John goes to Title Company A and signs a Deed conveying his property to Buyer 1 at 9:00 am (and gets his check); then John goes to Title Company B and signs a Deed conveying the SAME property to Buyer 2 at 10:00 am (and gets another check); then at 11:00 am Title Company A records the Deed to Buyer 1; then at 12:00 pm Title Company B records the Deed to Buyer 2 . . .  We know John is a crook; but . . . when the dust settles — who owns the property? Buyer 1 or Buyer 2?  

Read Full Post

New Year's Resolution: Protect Your Assets with Estate Plans

January 3, 2022 | Category: Estate Planning in Florida

While asset protection includes safeguarding your finances in the event of a foreclosure, bankruptcy filing, or civil lawsuit, it also entails placing your assets in the proper legal format so as to avoid hefty estate taxes and protect your heirs from having to pay exorbitant inheritance taxes.  A proper estate plan takes into account the disposition of your assets upon your death and has as its goal the protection of your assets against devaluation by the estate and inheritance taxes, as well as protecting your assets against creditors.

Read Full Post

DUI in Florida: How Many Drinks Does It Take?

December 28, 2021 | Category: Criminal Defense, Florida DUI Laws

The Florida legal limit for a driver’s blood alcohol concentration is .08. It can be difficult for a person to determine whether they have had too many drinks or enough to be legally considered intoxicated.  Blood alcohol levels play a huge factor in determining if you are driving under the influence in Florida. A standard liquor drink contains one ounce of liquor, a glass of wine is five ounces, one beer equates to twelve ounces - for reference.  The state can prove impairment by your blood alcohol level, but it should be noted that the State does not need to "prove" that you are drunk, just that alcohol has impaired your ability to drive and function properly.

Read Full Post

Contact Us

Douglas Law Firm

Palatka Office

117 N. 2nd Street,
Palatka, FL 32177

Tel: 386-530-2955
Toll Free: 800-705-5457
Fax: 386-385-5914

View On Google Maps
Douglas Law Firm

St Augustine Office

100 Southpark Blvd, Suite 414
St Augustine, FL 32086

Tel: 904-671-8395
Toll Free: 800-705-5457

View On Google Maps
Douglas Law Firm

Jacksonville Office

6100 Greenland Road, Unit #603,
Jacksonville, FL 32258

Tel: 904-671-8395
Toll Free: 800-705-5457

View On Google Maps
Douglas Law Firm

Nocatee Office

309 Kingsley Lake Dr., Suite 903,
St. Augustine, FL 32092

Tel: 904-671-8395
Toll Free: 800-705-5457

View On Google Maps
Douglas Law Firm

Ocala Office

110 North Magnolia Avenue,
Ocala, FL 34475

Tel: 800-705-5457


View On Google Maps