How To Claim Bodily Injury in Florida Resulting From a Vehicle AccidentDecember 2, 2020 | Category: Articles, Personal Injury in Florida
What You Should do After an Automobile Accident in Florida
Since Florida is a no-fault insurance state, you must file a claim against your own insurance if you are involved in an automobile accident in Florida. If you do not have enough insurance coverage for your injuries, you may then file a claim against the at-fault driver’s insurance. If both insurance policies are not enough to cover your injuries, you can elect to sue the at-fault driver. In this case, you might choose to take your case to litigation with an experienced car accident lawyer.
Statute of Limitations with a Car Accident Claim
Insurance companies require you to start a claim for automobile accidents within 10 days. PIP insurance requires that you seek medical treatment within 14 days following the automobile accident. It is best practice to notify your insurance company right away when you have been involved in an accident, even if you seek legal assistance from an attorney.
After an accident, you should do the following:
- Seek medical attention if needed
- Notify your insurance company of the accident. Be sure you have your policy number, year, make, and model of your vehicle, defendant's contact, and vehicle information. and your attorney's contact information.
- Contact your Florida Personal Injury Attorney
- If possible, document the scene of the accident. Get witness contact information, take photos, find out everything you can about the scene and what people saw.